News & Events

   Leadership awards
Local heroes, students honored at LC President's Community and Student Leadership Awards

Laredo College held the President’s Community and Student Leadership Awards on Tuesday, May 10. These awards recognize community leadership for their altruistic efforts to advance the welfare of our community, as well as student leaders for their strong character and commitment to helping others through community service activities.


Each year, Laredo College recognizes the recipient of the President’s Community Leadership Award, which is bestowed upon outstanding individuals who have been role models of achievement and have made a difference in our community. This year there are three honorees: City of Laredo Health Director Dr. Richard Chamberlain, City of Laredo Fire Chief Guillermo Heard and City of Laredo Health Authority Dr. Victor Treviño.


Moreover, Laredo College also recognized 24 exemplary students who were the recipients of the Student Leadership Award.


“These awards are an opportunity for Laredo College to recognize the remarkable work being done every day by our outstanding community and student leaders,” said LC Interim President Dr. Marisela Rodriguez Tijerina. “We were honored to host this ceremony to recognize exemplary students in our community. We also celebrated three selfless and dedicated public servants who have protected and strengthened our community through their tireless work. Our three honorees are local heroes who have been instrumental in the unprecedented fight against COVID-19.”


LC Community Leadership Award recipients

The Laredo College president and management team select the recipients of the Community Leadership Awards. The 2022 honorees are three Laredoans whose work in safety, emergency management and healthcare has been invaluable in the handling of the pandemic.


Dr. Richard A. Chamberlain is a native Laredoan who currently serves as the City of Laredo Health Department Director. Throughout his tenure at the City of Laredo Health Department, he has served as the Assistant Health Director for Programs and Services, Chief of Epidemiology, Chief of Health Education and Promotion, High Consequence Infectious Disease Epidemiologist and as a Sanitarian.


His mission is to achieve health equity for the residents of Laredo, and he firmly believes better health is accomplished through better partnerships. Dr. Chamberlain also believes health equity is achieved when every person has the opportunity to attain his or her full health potential and no one is disadvantaged from achieving this potential because of social position or other socially determined circumstances.


Chief Guillermo Heard has served the City of Laredo for 23 years. He has been promoted through the ranks having held positions of Assistant Driver, Driver, Captain, Fire Deputy Chief and was most recently appointed to Fire Chief in August 2020.


He is responsible for directing all activities of the fire department and is the sole authority and command at the fire scene. He is also the City of Laredo Emergency Management Coordinator. He is incident commander of all major incidents and coordinates with all other departments. Chief Heard’s passion for public service is admirable and spans over two decades across different fields. He is a firefighter, certified paramedic, nurse practitioner and nursing instructor.


Dr. Victor Treviño was born and raised in Laredo. He is a product of Laredo schools, including Laredo College, which he attended from 1966 to 1969. He currently serves as the City of Laredo Health Authority. He has active medical privileges in the departments of family medicine at Laredo Medical Center, Doctors Hospital and Specialty Hospital. Additionally, he holds a Texas medical license, Louisiana medical license and a full medical license in Mexico.


Dr. Treviño has an ongoing medical practice serving the Laredo State Center and the MHMR programs and centers. His many years of service across different public and private healthcare entities have garnered him many distinguished accolades.


LC Student Leadership Award recipients

The LC Student Leadership Award recipients consist of 24 area high school students nominated by their high school counselors and two high-achieving returning LC students. Each honoree receives a $500 scholarship.


This year’s honorees are:

Sahyly Anaya and Oliden Ramos, J.B. Alexander High School

Estrella Lara and Brianna Lee Rodriguez, Raymond & Tirza Martin High School

Bianca Loza and Noemi Segura, Lyndon B. Johnson High School

Raul Castillo and Elizabeth Rodriguez, United High School

Larissa Madrigal and Angela Meza, J.W. Nixon High School

Ashley Cabrera and Stephanie Mendoza, Dr. Leonides Gonzalez Cigarroa High School

Ricardo Chaires and Fernanda Mejia, United South High School

Ivana Sanchez and Carla Perez, Laredo College

Kayla N. Almaguer and Marlissa V. Molina, Zapata High School

Jazlynn Johnson and Natalia Reyna, Hebbronville Early College High School

Jason Garcia and Michael Inocencio, Bruni High School

Karla Hurtado and Abraham Villa, St. Augustine High School


Laredo College congratulates all the Laredo College President’s Community and Student Leadership Award recipients.