Computer Information Systems, Networking Technologies with a Concentration in Network Administration, Associate of Applied Science

Computer Information Systems

Networking Technologies with a Concentration in Network Administration

Associate of Applied Science


Welcome to the Computer Sciences & Technology Department. The department provides instruction in three different Workforce Education programs. Each program's student learning outcomes align with industry skillset  demands  to ensure a greater probability for employment upon graduation. The department also provides instruction for the Laredo College core curriculum as well as in an Associate of Science Degree involving a Computer Science concentration. 

The mission of the Computer Sciences & Technology Department is to fulfil the learning objectives of each one of our students, while providing quality, relevant, hands-on instruction. Students will be encouraged to engage in an environment conducive for learning. The department's goal for each of our students is to inspire them to fully attain their learning potential. 


The Networking Technologies AAS degree concentrating in Network Administration includes an array of skillsets ranging from multiple industry technologies. Semester one of the program focuses on networking fundamentals intended to prepare students for advanced topics and rigor that begin in semester two. 

Semesters two through four introduce advanced curriculum from the Cisco, Red Hat Linux, and Microsoft Academies. The academy curriculum is aligned with industry certification skillsets required in the Workforce. Students will complete three Cisco CCNA courses, two Linux courses, two Microsoft Server courses, a capstone course, and a cooperative internship course. Fifteen hours of academic coursework is also required.

This program has been designated as exemplary in Cyber Defense education by the NSA and DHS. Students will test for CompTIA Network + and Cisco CCNA certification at different intervals in the program. Certification vouchers will be funded by Laredo College. Certification testing is a program requirement. Program credits are transferable to Texas A&M University @ San Antonio, South Texas College, and Western Governers University. 



Plan of Study

Recommended Course Sequence Semesters Offered Credit Hours
Semester 1
ITSC 1405 – Introduction to PC Operating Systems Fall, Spring 4
ITNW 1425 – Fundamentals of Networking Technologies Fall, Spring 4
ITSY 1400 – Fundamentals of Information Security Fall, Spring 4
ITSE 1429 – Programming Logic & Design - Python Fall, Spring 4
16 Hours
Semester 2
ITCC 1414 - CCNA 1: Introduction to Networks Spring 4
ITNW1316 – Network Administration I Fall, Spring 3
ITSC 1358 – UNIX System Administration I Fall, Spring 3
ENGL 1301 - Composition I Fall, Spring 3
13  Hours
Summer Session I
Elective - Language, Philosophy, and Culture/Creative Arts CORE Fall, Spring 3
3 Hours
Summer Session II
Elective - Mathematics Fall, Spring 3
3 Hours
Semester 3
ITCC 1444 - CCNA 2: Switching, Routing, and Wireless Essentials Fall 4
ITNW 2305 - Network Administration II Fall 3
ITSC 2325 - Advanced Linux Fall 3
Elective - American History/Government/Political Science/ Social and Behavioral Science Fall, Spring 3
13 Hours
Semester 4
ITCC 2420 - CCNA 3: Enterprise Networking, Security, and Automation Spring 4
ITSY 2359 - Security Assessment and Auditing CAPSTONE Spring 3
ITSC 2281 - Cooperative Education – Computer and Information Sciences, General Spring 2
Elective - Speech Component Area Option Fall, Spring 3
12 Hours